Dedicated to the advancement of the mainland sugarcane industry in the United States of America

American Society of Sugar Cane Technologists
Louisiana Division

Fellowship - Scholarships - Professorship and
Science Fair Awards Page

Louisiana Home Page Louisiana Annual Meeting Fellowship -Scholarships -Professorship & 
Science Fair Awards Page
History of the Louisiana Sugar Industry


Click on the links below for the following information:
Denver T. Loupe/ASSCT Sugar Heritage Professorship Recipient
Fellowship/Scholarships Recipients
Fellowship/Scholarship Fund Contributors
Science Fair Award Recipients

Click on the links below to access information and a donation form for graduate and undergraduate students studying sugarcane production in Louisiana.  The Louisiana ASSCT encourages and thanks individuals and organizations for making these donations. 

Fellowship/Scholarship Fund Information
Fellowship/Scholarship Fund Donation Form

To view and print the documents, your computer must have an installed copy of Adobe Acrobat Reader program (if you do not have this program on your computer, you may click on the following link to obtain a free copy of the program): 

Winners of the 
ASSCT Fellowship/Scholarships
Chris McAllister
Fellowship recipient - Fall 2004 semester
John David Barreca
Renee Elizabeth Leger

College of Agriculture Scholarship - 2005/2006 year

back to top

We extend our appreciation to the following sponsors for their contributions.

Fellowship/Scholarship Fund 
Contributors for 2005

Adolph Jr., Henry F.

American Sugar Cane League of the U.S.A., Inc.
American Utility Metals
Bain Farms
Calvin Viator, Ph.D & Associates, LLC
Carmouche Planting Company, Inc.
Factory Sales & Engineering, Inc.
in memory of James H. Thibaut
Godfrey Knight Farms, Inc.
in memory of Marion Knight
Richard, Ed
in memory of Irving Legendre, Jr.
Selim, Magdi
Triple V Farms Inc.
in memory of Chad D. Viator

back to top

Winner of the 
Denver T. Loupe
/ASSCT Sugar Heritage Professorship
Benjamin Legendre
First recipient of newly established Professorship - 2005

Click here or on picture to enlarge
from left to right:  Dr. Denver Loupe and Dr. Ben Legendre, LSU AgCenter Research & Extension; Mr. Tony Parris, Iberia Sugar Co-op., Inc.

 back to top

2006 Louisiana Division Science Fair Awards Report  
Winner Award Category Amount Awarded

Tate Guillotte
Title:  "The Effects of Tillage Reduction on Sugarcane Yields in Second Year Stubble and Plant Cane?"

Senior Division $250

Catholic High School, New Iberia
Dr. Donald Voorhies

Teacher Advisor
Lauren Kuhlmeier
Title:  "Bagasse to Charcoal"
Senior Division $150
Baton Rouge Magnet High School
Teacher Advisor

Dr. Freddie Martin       Mr. Tatte Guillotte

Catholic High School ,
New Iberia, LA

Click on the link below to access information on the Science Fair Awards and other award programs sponsored by the American Society of Sugar Cane Technologists.

Information on Science Fair Awards 
& other award programs sponsored by the ASSCT

back to top